2006 IPLOCA Safety Award Winners

The 2006 IPLOCA Safety Award was presented during the annual Convention held in Sydney.

Based this year not only upon submitted safety statistics but also upon specific achievements aimed at improving the safety upon specific achievements aimed at improving the safety of pipeline industry personnel, the award was given for the following: 

  • an outstanding safety performance resulting from proactive programmes and/or processes
  • a unique innovation or initiative to avoid accidents
  • a new and well-defines system, procedure or practice enhancing safety
  • implementation of lessons learned


The Award was presented to C.A.T. Lebanon for the development of a proactive management system and the results contributiong to a concerned effort by all personnel in ensuring a safer working environment and elimination or reduction of incidents.


Pictured: Abdallah Saadeh accepts the IPLOCA Safety Award from Osman Birgili, Chairman of the 2006-2007 IPLOCA Safety Committee. 

In recognition of its members' commitment to safety IPLOCA named four runners-up (in alphabetical order):

Nippon Steel Engineering, represented by Kyoko Arata, for their Barge Risk Assessment and for the implementation of lessons learnt / safety alerts.

Punj Lloyd, for their Hazard Management ant Tool Box Talk on the OGD III / AGD II NGL Pipeline.  

Spiecapag, represented by Jean-Claude van de Wiele, for their Health & Safety Managment system.

Willbros, represented by John Allcorn, for their proactive approach in a new era of safety management systems