2019 IPLOCA Scholarship Recipients

IPLOCA is proud to offer to twenty students, who are children or grandchildren of employees of IPLOCA member companies, a scholarship of USD 4,500 as a financial contribution for full-time studies at an accredited college, university or vocational school. Scholarships are awarded annually and have been offered by IPLOCA since 2016.

Eligible students can submit their application to Scholarship America, an independent non-for-profit organization, who will ensure a fair selection process of top performers. Whenever possible, two scholarships are awarded to students of Regular Members in each of the IPLOCA Geographic Regions and four are awarded to students of Associate Members.

The 2019 scholarships were awarded to:

Name of student - Name of Institution - Major - IPLOCA Member Company

Alexis Aguilera Betancourt ITESM, Mexico City, Mexico-Music Engineering – Techint Engineering & Construction

Swethika Balasankar SASTRA University, Tamil Nadu, India – Biotechnology – Mohammed Al Barghash Co.

Marissa Cartwright - Coe College, Cedar Rapids, IA, U.S.A. – Bio & Environmental Sciences – Vermeer Corporation

Natalie Connors – University of Western Ontario, London, Canada – Engineering – PipeSak Incorporated

Euan Coxon – Newcastle University, U.K. – Medecine – J. Murphy & Sons Limited

Dharia Hajny – The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, U.S.A. – Nursing – U.S. Pipeline, Inc.

Sarah Kelly – Crawford College of Art and Design, Cork City, Ireland – Fine Art – J. Murphy & Sons Limited

Claire Kloten Montesclaros University of Calgary, Canada – Accounting – Shawcor Ltd.

Fadil Meraj – Manipal Institute of Technology, India – Electronics & Communication Engineering – Valentine Maritime Ltd.

Luis Miranda Contreras – Universidad de Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico – Engineering - Arendal

Kritika Mishra – Vellore Institute of Techology, India – Computer Science – Punj Lloyd Limited

Uluc Ormeci – Technische Universitat, Berlin, Germany – Mechanical Engineering – Tekfen Construction & Installation

Sarah Pellerin – Sciences Po Paris, France – International Public Management – Horizontal Drilling International

Sydney Reed – University of Florida, U.S.A. – Microbiology & Cell Science – Price Gregory International

Cole Sutyak – University of Akron, Ohio, U.S.A. – Computer Science Engineering – Lincoln Electric Company

Livia Tenani – Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy – Management Engineering – SICIM S.p.A.

Juliana Van Boxtel – Concordia University, Wisconsin, U.S.A. – Biomedical Sciences – ITW Welding Products Group

Alyssa Womack – University of Louisiana at Monroe, U.S.A. – Occupational Therapy – Mears Group

Akeira Worthington – Otago University, New Zealand – Health Science – McConnell Dowell Corporation Ltd.

Keanna Yu – University of British Colombia, Vancouver, Canada – Biochemistry – Ledcor Pipeline Limited

For the first time this year, IPLOCA has offered the possibility to member companies to sponsor a scholarship.  Three additional scholarships have been awarded to:

Tessa Ackerland - Southern Illinois University of Edwardsville, U.S.A. – Business Admin: Economics & Marketing – Lincoln Electric Company

Sponsored by:


Rick Marcusen - University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, U.S.A. – Engineering – ITW Welding Products Group

Sponsored by:


Jordan Thibodeaux - Penn State University: State College, PA, U.S.A. – Petroleum Engineering – Price Gregory International

Sponsored by: